Selling on Amazon is easy. What’s challenging is how to make your store stand out so that you can make the most out of it. With more and more Amazon stores adding to the competition, it’s more challenging every day.
To help you get noticed, you should try to make use of Amazon Ads. Amazon ads come in three formats: Sponsored Product Ads, Headline Search Ads, and Product Display Ads. As a third-party seller, you’re most likely to make use of the sponsored product ad over the other two.
To help you make your Amazon sponsored products ads work for you, here are some tips for you:
Determine your preferred Targeting Type
Professional marketers would tell you that about one of the most important things that you should do to when talking about ads is for you to first identify your target market. Knowing your target market helps you concentrate on who your most probable customers are.
For Amazon ads, targeting is a bit different. It involves managing the words or terms used to search for the available products on Amazon. Amazon targeting comes in two ways: either manual or automatic.
Manual targeting means that you lay out your own bids on specific search terms, meaning you determine which search terms you believe your buyers would search to get to products you offer.
Automatic targeting, on the other hand, chooses the search terms for you. You let Amazon decide which terms are best for your products.
While both of them have their advantages and disadvantages, there’s a way for you to maximize on both. Consider starting with manual targeting first. Come up with your own key terms and see which ones perform best and use it moving forward. You can then add automatic targeting to help you add other effective search terms.
Frequently check your Search Term’s Performance
It is essential that you check on your search term bids from time to time. Not search terms perform equally. It is efficient if you only bid on performing keywords.
To check your search terms’ performance, go to Reports, select Search Term as the Report Type, and designate a Report Period. You will then see how your search terms performed during the chosen time.
Check which keywords are performing well and retain them. As for underperforming search terms, tag them as negative and don’t invest in them. You should also add new keywords and also assess their performance. Finding the right search terms is a challenge but once you have the perfect key terms, you are bound to enjoy the benefits of maximizing your Amazon ads, and eventually, getting higher sales as well.
Also, Check on your Bid Budget
You’ll also need to check whether or not your daily budget has lasted the whole day. There’s a minimum daily budget that you can use for your bids but using only this amount might limit your ads’ performance as well. So check whether your budget has lasted the whole day and adjust as necessary.
Another thing that you should consider is to check on your average cost per click (CPC) and take this against how many clicks you usually have. If the total cost is lower than your daily budget, then you may not be able to maximize your ads. If your budget is just $10 and you have a CPC of $0.50, then with just 20 clicks, your budget will get depleted. Is your average more than 20 or is it less? Also adjust here as you deem fit.
Advertising in Amazon is an investment in as much as marketing for any business. So make sure to maximize your investment and make sure that is used efficiently.
If you have done the first three tips above, then all you can do now is wait for how your ads will turn out. You’ll need to be patient and see whether your ads will work given that you have followed the most practical strategies when using Amazon Sponsored Product Ads. It is ideal to give your campaign at least three weeks before you conclude on whether it is effective or not.
But it’s not just about waiting and seeing, it’s about taking the necessary action afterward. Advertising on Amazon will take some getting used to, and it is essential that you learn from experience.
Maximize Your Amazon Ads with These Tips
The 4 tips above will set you on the right track for advertising and selling on Amazon. Sponsored product ads are challenging but when done right, this will definitely help boost your sales. So work on your ads, learn from your experience, and continue improving your strategy until you find what works for you.
Advertising on Amazon is surely a painstaking endeavor, but to stand out from the tough competition that is undeniably going on in it, then you’ll need to take one step forward and an efficiently-done Sponsored Product Ads is just that.